Can I get some help?

i_am_jim's picture

I'm a novice at doing this but I've done a very few using Microsoft Movie Maker. The clips below were from a memorial service for a quilt designer friend of my wife. I'm posting the clip as it came out of the camera (thus it has crap at the beginning and the end), and the same clip after editing in Movie Maker. Both clips seem blurry/jittery as you pass over the quilts, but the original seems clearer to me. I haven't seen this jitter in videos I've done previously.

I'm posting here to see if someone can help me understand what caused this jitter.

This was the first one I've made with this camera, but it has a glowing reputation for making videos.

This is the original as it came from the camera:

Here is the same clip after editing in Movie Maker:

i_am_jim's picture

deleted

i_am_jim's picture

deleted

nlajeune's picture
Administrator Plus Member
Sorry for the delay in getting this post published!

paulears's picture

Best guess is a mismatch in frame rates - was it shot in 30fps and then your editing software output it as 25fps? This means that every second 5 frames are thrown away, which is always obvious on pans. Without more details, that's my guess.

Charles Bennett's picture

I also notice that your camera footage is at a higher resolution than your edited footage. The picture size difference between the videos is a giveaway. Try exporting your footage at the same resolution that you shot it at.

i_am_jim's picture

Sorry to be so long responding. I get spam from this site but not reply notices.
I'm too much of a novice to understand about frame rates. I shot it at whatever the camera does by default and edited it at what ever Movie Maker does by default.